Show me, don’t tell me

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” – Anton Chekhov

I wonder sometimes if I need to get myself onto a creative writing workshop. I am not trained to write. I am creative and love to write but there is a part of me saying I need to go back to school. Of course that could just be the bloody internal critic I have heard so much about. It always appears as I read through something I have written.

Anyway. I have been reading about “show don’t tell” and even bought a kindle ebook about it.

That’s what prompted the quote.

It is a reminder for me as I write my short stories. I need to write about the perspiration running down his muscular chest, rather than saying he was hot and sweaty. I have to write about her chewing her food more than the required 25 times and feeling the grease slip down her throat. Rather than write about her eating a piece of chewy (and greasy) meat.

I prefer to tell. But it seems show is more exciting. I am giving it a go by making up sentences that tell and rewriting it as a show. It will at least put my brain into show mode… hopefully.

5 thoughts on “Show me, don’t tell me

  1. Sounds like we are similar. I too am working to become a better writer. While I believe that a workshop may be of benefit, I also think that the more you write and the more you read, the better you will become. I wish you much success and hope that you continue to learn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

