A Time For Change

“Questions are powerful tools when you need answers.” Shelley said, shattering our silent afternoon under the willow tree. We hadn’t really said much since arriving so I thought this might be a great time to keep my Teacher talking.

“Really?” I asked “How so?”

“Well” Shelley continued. “You can never really ask a question without getting an answer, can you?”

I stopped and thought about that for a second then asked.

“How will I know it is the right answer?”

“By taking the time to ask the right question” Shelley smiled.

I looked round at her. Answers like that really pissed me off but I wouldn’t dare tell her that.

“How do I go about deciding what the right question is” I said in the hope of getting a straight answer (which very rarely happened in Shelley’s company) and maybe an insight into how to write questions that will get me thinking about the life I want for myself.

“You have found the right question when the answer you get empowers you, and keeps you focused on a solution or provides you with an opportunity to grow. The right question will ignite hope. Life teaches us the right questions when we stop and listen, providing us with new insights into who we are and who we can become. It is all about learning how to trust our inner guidance and our own experiences. You find the right question through your own experiences.”

I was silent for a few minutes, mainly because I had no idea what to say next, and Shelley continued.

“Understand that there is no such thing as a wrong question, only a weak one that won’t help you move out of the situation you are in now. Ask a question and see what answers you are given. If the answer makes you feel bad or it doesn’t excite you into action then chances are you need to change the question.”

It was my time to be silent now as I sat and thought about the questions I can ask myself to help me get some answers about my next move.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

